Day One in the Raw

Phew, glad I made it here. Feels like I have been gearing up all week for this raw fest and I was really ready to dive in this morning. I started first thing with making my almond milk with the almonds I soaked a few days ago. So delicious! The picture does not do it justice at all. In front of the almond milk is the leftover pulp – again I refrigerated this for later on this weekend. I used the almond milk as the base for my morning smoothie, to which I added a generous helping of kale, strawberries, 1/2 banana and a scoop of Billy’s Raw Protein.

I had a lot of physical labor to do today so I made a little extra smoothie to pack along and I also made a batch of experimental raw hummus. I had sprouted some garbanzo beans and then I soaked them in hot water (not boiling and not on the stove) – this is supposed to remove the bitter component. I added three cups garbanzo beans, 1/2 cup raw tahini, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1 clove of garlic, a handful of fresh cilantro, a dash of cumin, juice from one lemon and a pinch of Himilayan salt to my Cuisinart and just pureed it until it became rather smooth and creamy. I drizzled in some olive oil and some water to help with the consistency as well.

The result is okay – I’m not crazy about it but I made a lot of it so I will live with it for this week – just not super flavorful. I ran out of time this morning to make the Falafels so that is why I made the hummus. I am still on target for my Enchiladas tonight – just need to pick up some limes here shortly.

I had a moment of blood sugar droppage this afternoon but I wasn’t keeping up with things and again was doing some seriously heavy lifting, which I’d rather just forget about now, but all is well, no worries (except okay, I may have squashed my hand between the wall and about 500 pounds, but hopefully the sensation will come back soon). I ate an apple and my blood sugar was happy again.

I will do my best to take photos of the enchiladas and get those recipes posted tonight. Thanks for your patience!

 

Leave a Reply

