Enchiladas – Raw

This recipe is from the Cafe Gratitude Recipe Book – “I Am Elated” Enchiladas

First I had to prepare “I Am Bueno” Spinach Tortillas

8 ounces fresh spinach, washed and dried

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon flax meal

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Puree all of these ingredients in a food processor. When a smooth paste has formed, get out your teflex sheets for the dehydrator and smooth a thin, square layer over most of the sheet.

Next I had score the spinach layer with a plus sign to divide it into four tortillas. I’m not going to lie, none of this was super easy.

Next I put the sheet into the dehydrator at 145 degrees for about 45 minutes, then I reduced the heat to 115 for another few hours. I may have added too much lemon juice to my mixture since spreading was particularly difficult and they were still quite wet when I first checked on them. Once they were close and I could flip them onto the grid and get the other side, I knew they were going to turn out okay. The final consistency reminded me a lot of sheets of Nori seaweed.

Earlier in the day I prepared the filling, which consisted of:

1 cup soaked pumpkin seeds

8 sundried tomato halves

1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic

2 tablespoons lime juice

1 tablespoon Nama Shoyu

1 large chopped date

1/2 jalapeno pepper, chopped

2 scallions (bias cut)

Again, puree everything in the Cuisinart except the scallions. Once the pâté-like texture was achieved I moved it to another bowl, folded in the scallions and refrigerated everything until it was ready to go.

I had already made a simple avocado tomato salsa (1 avo, 1 tomato, 1/4 cup chopped onion, little bit of jalapeno, lime juice) and I had made an avocado puree yesterday consisting of avocado, fresh mint, fresh cilantro, lime juice, dash of salt).

For the final additional sauce, I prepared I Am Ravishing Cashew Sour Cream:

Added to my blender:

1 1/2 cups soaked cashews

1/2 teaspoon Himilayan salt

2 tablespoons lemon juice

between 1/2-3/4 cup filtered water (start blending with about 1/3 cup and work up from there until you get a nice smooth consistency).

I blended everything and it came out nice and creamy and white just like sour cream looks. I added it to a squeezy bottle that I bought at Sur la Table.

I used squeezy bottles for the avocado puree and the I Am Ravishing Cashew Sour Cream to “finish” off the look of the meal and garnished with fresh shredded carrot.

Overall taste was quite pleasing and very satisfying.

Leave a Reply

