Tools of the Trade

The other day I confessed (or perhaps I was complaining?) that I spent an obnoxious amount of money for just two bags of groceries in preparation for my experiment. What I failed to mention was that luckily I was pretty well stocked at home in the small kitchen appliance department – and these things were accumulated over many years. I am not suggesting that anyone go out and purchase all of these items. You can certainly go raw without them, but your meals may become much more exciting when you add something like a dehydrator and food processor into the picture.

Here’s what we’ve got in the picture:

Immersion blender: Not sure if I’ll have to use this much or not this month. I usually make it when I’m blending up hot soups.

Juicer: I’ll definitely be using this a lot!

Citrus juicer: I find this very useful (though I don’t love this model). Just gets much more juice out of the fruit compared to squeezing with my hands.

Cuisinart: Invaluable.

Dehydrator: This is an Excalibur dehydrator (www.excaliburdehydrator.com/)that we bought online a few years ago. I have made everything from simple dehydrated fruits and vegetables to crackers and cinnamon rolls in this. I love it. I think it is worth the expense.

Grater: On top of the dehydrator is a standard grater – no need to get all technical.

Vitamix: Another expensive item. We’ve had this for many years but I can’t say 100% that it is that much better than a higher end blender you can find at Target or other stores in that category. I know Vitamix devotees will be scoffing – that is just my opinion. I use the Vitamix ALL the time; I’m just saying I don’t worship the thing (but you need a good blender if you’re going to go raw).

Nut milk bag: I talked about this in either my first or second post. I find it makes making nut milk sooooo much easier!

Mandolin: You need to be really careful working with these in the kitchen but I love them for getting thin slices on fruits and veggies.

Leave a Reply

