Key Lime Pie (raw)

I Am Awakening

Key Lime Pie (Cafe Gratitude Recipe)

This is just the beginning of this pie but since I may not get to photograph the final product I thought I’d snap this picture – but I must say it tastes great as is (I licked the spoon). All that it is missing is the “I Am The Top” Live Meringue

Crust:

1 1/4 cups each macadamia nuts and pecans

1/4 cup finely chopped dates

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1/8 teaspoon salt

Place the ingredients (minus the dates) for the crust in the food processor fitted with the “S” blade. Process until crumbly then slowly add dates until crust sticks together. Press crust into greased (with coconut butter) pie pan.

Filling:

3/4 cup lime juice

2 avocados (7 1/2 ounces)

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon agave nectar

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons coconut milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/8 salt

2 tablespoons lecithin

1/2 cup raw unscented coconut butter

Blend all ingredients except lecithin and coconut butter until smooth. Add lecithin and coconut butter, blending until well incorporated. Pour into prepared crust and set in fridge/freezer (for about an hour) until firm. Once set, spread a thin layer of meringue on top and decorate with lime slices.

I Am The Top – Live Meringue

This isn’t the best picture of the finished product but the result was completely delicious. The meringue took some time but it was a terrific way to top off the key lime pie! The pie is not too sweet and just bursting with the freshness of the lime.

For the Meringue:

3/4 ounce Irish moss (I bought this online) (you must soak it 24 hours ahead of time and rinse it very well)

1/2 cup water

1 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup coconut meat (note: I used organic dried shredded coconut)

1/2 cup soaked cashews

1/4 cup agave nectar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

pinch of salt

1 1/2 teaspoons lecithin (I bought this online – lecithin powder)

1/2 cup coconut butter

Blend Irish moss and water until smooth and thick. Add coconut milk, shredded coconut, cashews, agave, lemon juice, vanilla and salt. Blend until smooth. Add lecithin and coconut butter until well incorporated. Pour into a wide, shallow pan and set in fridge for up to 3 hours. Note: I just poured a little bit right onto the key lime pie that had already set and allowed that to set another 2-3 hours.

7 responses

    • I will post it with the pie- it’s time consuming in the sense that it takes thinking ahead and soaking – it was delicious and you only need a little bit for the key lime pie so I’m not sure what I’ll do with the rest. Maybe I can meet you somewhere to give you some of the pie!!

Leave a Reply

