Pasta Primavera

 

Last night’s dinner was one I’ve enjoyed the most so far. It was also the simplest: pasta primavera made with zucchini and yellow squash. I used a mandolin to thinly slice or ribbon the squash and I also used a peeler and a knife. I may need to invest in a spiralizer to really get into the long, thin strands. I loosely followed a recipe for the marinara sauce but since it ended up differing quite a bit I’ll just show you what I used:

Marinara:

16 sundried tomato halves (that had been soaked overnight in fresh water and drained)

1 roma tomato

1/4 jalapeno pepper

About 20 fresh basil leaves

1 dash of garlic powder

1 small shallot

1 teaspoon agave nectar

2 teaspoons lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

about 1/4 cup vegetable juice (mix of carrot, celery, parsley) mixed with 1/2 cup water

Note: I should have saved the soaking water from the tomatoes, but I accidentally just drained them right into the sink – this is why I chose to add the vegetable juice plus water for my liquid.

Blend all of the ingredients together in a blender and adjust the consistency with the liquid. I used about 1/2 cup total liquid. Yield was approximately 1 1/4 cups sauce.

For the “Pasta:”

1 Zucchini

1 Yellow Summer Squash

You can choose whichever way works best for you in terms of making the pasta. You can use a mandolin like I did or you can shred the zucchini and make it like a raw “orzo” dish (my guess is it would be a bit mushy). You can make it chunkier and you can hand slice – up to you.

For the Primavera:

1 carrot shredded

1 broccoli stalk shredded (about 2 inches of stalk)

1/4 red bell pepper

4 fresh basil leaves – thinly sliced

1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1 dash salt

1 dash pepper

1 teaspoon lemon juice

Toss all of the ingredients together and serve on top of pasta and marinara. Save extra for salad.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

