Beyond the Bakery

Eating raw has just become a part of the day to day for me  now, feels totally normal, no big deal. Not craving anything outside the raw realm, but I also don’t feel compelled to make this a permanent lifestyle, but rather something I will incorporate into my lifestyle either once a week or one week a month and so forth. I am still totally committed to this month and having fun with it. Last night we hosted our dear friends and neighbors, Joe and Melody for a night of raw. The menu looked something like this:

Appetizers: Chips (dehyrated yams and zucchini rounds), Green Soup (carrot & celery juice, ginger, lime, avocado), and Zucchini/Daikon “pasta” salad

Main course: Pizza and kale salad (provided by Melody)

Dessert: Strawberry Shortcake

I’m happy to report that there were no “flops” but the preparation for the pizza and the dessert was quite time consuming. I must have spent five hours in the kitchen Friday evening preparing things for Saturday and another hour Saturday on just the dessert and pizza. But it was worth it. The pizza came out great – I’ll post the recipe.

I have plenty of energy – though it doesn’t feel much different than usual. My workouts haven’t changed. Overall it’s just not a big deal. It’s fun. It’s different. It’s challenging in the sense that I am thinking ahead more than usual in terms of being prepared away from home. It’s all good. Anyone else going to take this ride with me?

One response

Leave a Reply

