Half Way Point

I have a confession – no I didn’t cheat, but yesterday, or really last night I was super cranky. I don’t know why or what happened, I just felt down in the dumps. I was ready to go to sleep at 7:30 pm, which is definitely unusual for me. Woke up feeling much better, and excited for the next half of my raw adventure. I just reserved 22 books from the library so that I can expand my raw repertoire. Don’t worry local peeps, I won’t keep the books out any longer than necessary and I will likely look at half of them in the library and not check them out.

In writing an article on nutritional yeast I learned that it isn’t truly raw, but it is used by a lot of raw folks and in “raw” recipes. Raw oats are also used, but I haven’t gone there yet since I know they are steamed. I did add ground up steel cut oats to one cookie recipe that I made in the dehydrator with ground walnuts, raw rice protein, cacao nibs, vanilla and a little agave and I’ve had a few of those and they are delicious!! But then I found out that the steel cut oats are probably not raw – here is a good article on it http://prettysmartrawfoodideas.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/are-the-oats-you-are-buying-raw/ (so I’m not going to eat those anymore – good news is the kids actually like them and they are super healthy!)

What I have enjoyed most so far about the raw food experiment is the consciousness I have gained around my eating habits. I am eating more mindfully. I am eating less than I normally eat. I have dropped about 6 pounds. My skin looks better than usual, although those darn wrinkles are still there. I have plenty of energy, aside from last night of course. And I am excited about the second half of the month. I’m moving on from the Cafe Gratitude recipes, which have been so wonderful.

Leave a Reply

