Rawstada (Raw Tostada)

Last night was a fun experiment. I was really rushing making a tortilla because I didn’t start until about 3:45/4 pm. Results were pretty tasty, but my onions were almost too pungent – I ended up leaving most of them on the plate.

Ingredients:

4 cups corn kernels

1/2 cup ground flax

1/2 cup fresh orange juice (I would do carrot juice next time)

1/4 teaspoon Himilayan salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 cup chopped onion

Mixed vegetables (chopped, drizzled with olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper)

Guacamole

Put all of these ingredients in the food processor until a thick dough forms. Spread it on the dehydrator teflex sheet (in the form of a large square) and dehydrate at 140 degrees for one hour then lower temperature to 105 degrees for another hour. While your tortilla is dehydrating, add the mixed vegetables to another teflex sheet and leave in dehydrator until you are ready to eat your tortillas. Flip over to a grid sheet and continue to dehydrate until soft but not mushy. If you dry it long enough you would be able to use it more as a foldable tortilla. Since it was already around 7pm for me I just cut out a square of it. I topped the tortilla with a generous helping of vegetables and some fresh guacamole made with avocado, jalapeno, tomato, cilantro, onion, lime juice and cumin.

The good news is that I have at least three servings left of my corn tortilla so I can have fun adding more veggies and new ingredients to that today. I like that it is nut free.

Leave a Reply

